Consumer Protection Council

The Council

Consumer Protection Council

Head Office, CPC

The Consumer Protection Council (CPC) is the apex consumer protection agency in Nigeria. The Council was established by the Consumer Protection Council Act (CPCA) (Cap. 25, Laws of The Federation 2004). The overall mandate of the Council is to protect consumers by taking both preventive and remedial measures.

CPC was originally enacted in 1992, but the physical establishment of the Council occurred in 1999. The Council operates across all sectors of the economy and has evolved over the years. From a single office in 1999, the Council now has zonal offices in the six geopolitical zones, and additional emerging strategic intervention offices in key locations for better coverage of the country. Currently, there are nine offices including the headquarters in Abuja. Zonal offices are controlled and coordinated from the headquarters.

Since inception, the Council has had four Directors General. The current Director General is Babatunde Irukera.